On behalf of the IEEE Power & Energy Society (PES) Power Engineering Education Committee (PEEC), it is my great privilege and honor to announce the finalists for the 2024 IEEE PES PEEC Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Award:

  • Zhongda Chu (Ph.D. 2022), Research Associate, Imperial College London
  • Gonzalo Constante Flores (Ph.D. 2022), Postdoctoral Scholar, Purdue University
  • Abhineet Prakash (Ph.D. 2023), Assistant Professor, National Institute of Technology Calicut
  • Manish Kumar Singh (Ph.D. 2021), Assistant Professor, University of Wisconsin
  • Yu Weng (Ph.D. 2022), Postdoc Associate, Massachusetts Institute of Technology 

These finalists will present at a panel at the PES General Meeting (Tuesday, 3-5pm) in Seattle this July, where the overall winner will also be announced.

This year we received 77 nominations for the award, all of which were very high quality. Based on a selection committee from PEEC (Tim HansenParas MandalSara EftekharnejadZongjie WangMeng Wu), the candidates were determined based on their contributions to the mission of the IEEE Power and Energy Society during their dissertation (defended over the prior three calendar years of 2021, 2022, and 2023). We were extremely pleased in the number and quality of nominations. To say it was a competitive field would be an understatement!

We are greatly looking forward to seeing everyone in person and learning more about these amazing doctoral contributions to our discipline! See you all in Seattle in July!

Consider encouraging your graduate students to attend the panel, and to submit your graduating Ph.D. students work for consideration next year!

Thank you,

Timothy Hansen, Ph.D.
Harold C. Hohbach Endowed Associate Professor
Electrical Engr & Computer Science